Orioles tie MLB Lead with 3 Gold Gloves

(photo: orioles.com)
(photo: orioles.com)

(photo: orioles.com)

Baltimore Orioles third baseman Manny Machado, center fielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy were honored with this year’s American League Gold Glove Awards for defensive excellence at their respective positions. This is the second straight year the Orioles have had three Gold Glove players. They tied the Kansas City Royals for most Gold Gloves in MLB.

This is the first Gold Glove for Manny Machado. It is the first time an Oriole has won a gold glove for third base since Brooks Robinson won the last of his record 16 in 1975. Machado led the league in fielding percentage (.973), assists (355), double plays (42) and range factor (3.02).

This is the second Gold Glove for J. J. Hardy, who also won in 2012. Hardy is the third shortstop in Orioles history to win the award in consecutive years, joining Cal Ripken Jr. (1991-92) and Mark Belanger (1973-78). Hardy led all American League shortstops in games (159) and double plays (108).

This is the third Gold Glove for Adam Jones, who won in 2009 and 2012. Jones led all American League center fielders in games (156), assists (11) and putouts (352). It is the third time in the last four seasons Jones has led AL center fielders in putouts.

Hardy and Jones are the first set of American League teammates to win Gold Gloves in back-to-back years since the Seattle Mariners Adrian Beltre and Ichiro Suzuki in 2007 and 2008. Orioles catcher Matt Wieters, first baseman Chris Davis and right fielder Nick Markakis were nominated, but did not receive the Gold Glove awards. In 2013, Baltimore’s defense set Major League records for fewest errors (54), highest fielding percentage (.991) and errorless games (119).

POS AL winner NL winner
C Salvador Perez, KC Yadier Molina, STL
1B Eric Hosmer, KC Paul Goldschmidt, ARI
2B Dustin Pedroia, BOS Brandon Phillips, CIN
SS J.J. Hardy, BAL Andrelton Simmons, ATL
3B Manny Machado, BAL Nolan Arenado, COL
LF Alex Gordon, KC Carlos Gonzalez, COL
CF Adam Jones, BAL Carlos Gomez, MIL
RF Shane Victorino, BOS Gerardo Parra, ARI
P R.A. Dickey, TOR Adam Wainwright, STL

Follow me on Twitter @DeenasDays


Please share your thoughts about this post. Thanks for reading!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: