Orioles lead MLB with 3 Silver Slugger Awards


Baltimore Orioles first baseman Chris Davis, center fielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy were awarded the Silver Slugger Award for best offensive player at their respective positions in 2013 by Louisville Slugger. These three Silver Slugger Awards won by the Orioles are the most of any team in the Major Leagues in 2013. They are also the most by the Orioles since the award began in 1980. This is the fifth time in team history that Baltimore has had more than one winner. It is the first Silver Slugger Award for Davis, Jones and Hardy.

Chris Davis, who is also a candidate for AL MVP, led the Major Leagues with 53 home runs, 138 runs batted in and 96 extra-base hits. Davis is the third first baseman for the Orioles to be awarded a Silver Slugger Award, joining Eddie Murray (1983-84) and Rafael Palmeiro (1998).

Adam Jones is the first Orioles outfielder ever to win a Silver Slugger Award. Jones led AL outfielders in home runs (33) and RBIs (108).

J.J. Hardy led AL shortstops in home runs (25) and RBIs (76). Hardy is the third shortstop in Orioles history to win the Silver Slugger Award, joining Cal Ripken Jr. (who won eight times) and Miguel Tejada (who won twice).


For all your Orioles news, follow me on Twitter @DeenasDays

About Deena 'DeenasDays' Dietrich (592 Articles)
My name is Deena Dietrich. I live in Ellicott City, Maryland with my 2 dogs Elvis and Cilla. I am making my way as a Social Media Manager, Blogger and now Author. I have written my U2 memoir 'On the Road with U2: my musical journey' (available on amazon) about the 75 (now 100) U2 shows I have been to since ZooTv and the places I’ve seen and the people I’ve met along the way. My motto is “It is better to regret something you have done, than something you haven’t.” So follow me on my journey as I pursue my passions in music and sports with Elvis, U2, Grizzlies, Broncos, LMP, NKOTB, Orioles. Please connect with me @DeenasDays on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Google+ or you can email me at deenadietrich@gmail.com.

What did you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s